Faculty | Geography, Environment, and Sustainability

People

Faculty

Dr. Aaron Allen

Director of the Environment & Sustainability Program, Associate Professor of Musicology

336.256.1415
asallen@uncg.edu

Dr. Rick Bunch

Professor

rlbunch@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Geographic Information Science and Spatial Cognition

Plaxedes Chitiyo

Dr. Plaxedes T. Chitiyo

Lecturer

p_chitiyo@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Sustainable agriculture, urban agriculture, urban green space development, environmental justice, environmental policy, sustainability.

Dr. Keith Debbage

Professor

336-334-3911
kdebb@hotmail.com

Specializations:
Urban Planning, Regional Development, Tourism

Dr. Evan Goldstein

Research Scientist

ebgoldst@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Coastal Geomorphology, Machine Learning and Geomorphology, Coupled Human-Landscape Systems, Open Science

Dr. Mary Hall-Brown

Senior Lecturer

mbhallbr@uncg.edu

Specializations:
GIScience, Agriculture

Corey Johnson

Dr. Corey Johnson

Department Head, Professor

336.334.5388
corey_johnson@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Political Geography, Economic and Urban geography, Europe

Dr. Paul Knapp

Professor

paknapp@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Biogeography, Climatology, Dendroecology

Dr. G. Jay Lennartson

Director of Undergraduate Studies, Senior Lecturer

gjlennar@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Environmental Planning, Environmental Hazards, Climatology, and Meteorology

Dr. Wenliang “Will” Li

Assistant Professor

w_li3@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Geospatial analysis, remote sensing

Dr. Zhi-Jun Liu

Associate Professor

z_liu@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Environmental Geography, GIS, Spatial Statistics, Hydrologic/Ecological Modeling

James Nelson, MS

Spatial Analysis Lab Director

336.334.3917
janelson@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Urban Design and Transportation Planning, Cartography, Geographic Information Systems, Network Administration

Dr. Jeffrey Patton

Professor

jcpatton@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Cartography, GIS, History of Cartography, Earth Science

Dr. Sarah Praskievicz

Assistant Professor

sjpraski@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Hydrology fluvial geomorphology, and water resources

Dr. Dan Royall

Associate Department Head, Professor

pdroyall@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Geomorphology, fluvial systems, regolith/soil science, environmental magnetism, water resources.

Dr. John Stehlin

Assistant Professor

jgstehli@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Urban Political Economy, Mobility and Infrastructure

Dr. Roy Stine

Associate Professor

rsstine@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Geographic Information Systems, Remote Sensing

Dr. Selima Sultana

Director of Graduate Studies, Professor

336.334.3895
s_sultan@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Urban and Transportation, Urban/Transport GIS, Race/Ethnicity, S. Asia

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Lee Phillips

Director - Undergraduate Research, Scholarship and Creativity Office in the University Teaching and Learning Commons

plphilli@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Sedimentology, Stratrigraphy, Stable Isotope Geochemistry, Geomorphology, and Paleoclimatology

Emeriti

Dr. D. Gordon Bennett

Professor, Emeritus

dgbennet@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Demographic Analysis, World Population Problems

Dr. Michael Lewis

Associate Professor, Emeritus

melewis@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Natural Resources, Environmental Management, Applied Physical Geography

Dr. Elisabeth Nelson

Associate Professor, Emeritus

esnelso2@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Cartographic Perception Cognition

Dr. Susan Walcott

Professor, Emeritus

smwalcot@uncg.edu

Specializations:
Urban, Economic, Asia