GES brings home awards from SEDAAG annual meeting

News & Events

GES brings home awards from SEDAAG annual meeting

Group of students at conference

Posted on November 30, 2021

GES faculty and students attended the annual meeting of the Southeastern Division of the American Association of Geographers (SEDAAG) in Florence, Alabama, on November 21-22, 2021. Avery Catherwood (Ph.D. student) received the best paper award in the Masters category for “Loblolly Pine Traumatic Resin Ducts Serve as a Proxy for Cool-Season Weather Events at Nags Head, North Carolina, USA.” Avery is advised by Dr. Paul Knapp. Chase Womack (Ph.D. student) took home the MVP in the World Geography Bowl competition for having the highest average correct answers throughout the competition.

It was good to catch up with former UNCG students in attendance at the conference. Pictured left to right in the photo: Dr, Tommy Patterson (assistant professor, Southern Mississippi), Avery Catherwood (Ph.D. student), Joshua Merced (Ph.D. candidate), Chase Womack (Ph.D. student), Tyler Mitchell (Ph.D. candidate), Dr. Corey Johnson (professor), Dr. Selima Sultana (professor), Dr. Michele Abee (assistant professor, Bellarmine University), Dr. Paul Knapp (professor), Dr. John Nowlin (assistant professor, Arkansas State), Joyce Clapp (Ph.D. candidate), and Shane Canup (Ph.D. candidate). Not pictured: Jesse Lane (Ph.D. candidate).